Jump to content

Leaderboard

Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 07/27/20 in all areas

  1. News! - Announcement : Boeing 787-9 coming from FlightFactor FlightFactor announced last month that a completely new aircraft to add into the line up of a B777, B767/B757 twins, A350 and the Airbus A320 Ultimate is coming from the development house. This aircraft is the Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner and details are noted that the B787 will reach new heights in complexity, usability and have a variety of features. We are also taking our 3D and texturing to the next level with ever more detail in and out of the cockpit. The first cockpit renders have been produced..
    5 points
  2. Behind the Screen : May 2021 Noted it is already 1st June... 5 months of the year 2021 have already passed, and where are we? Non-Covid then later this week the FlightSimExpo on the 4th June to the 6th June would have been running in San Diego, but that date has now been moved to September 24-26, 2021. The FlightSimExpo 2021 this time around after the no-go of 2020, was a huge focus on the state of play in simulation and of the whirlwind of the changes surrounding simulation, a sort of "touch base" scenario or to see where we are all relative to all the significant ch
    2 points
  3. I believe that users should talk to the very available developers before shouting to the masses... I am very sure they will address your concerns, sometimes it is not the product that is the problem...
    1 point
  4. Aircraft Review : PAC CT/4E Airtrainer Project by VSkyLabs Armed services around the world when revitalising their fleets, usually do what they call "Off the shelf" purchases, or take an aircraft already built, and then reconfigure the aircraft to suit their services requirements, it is supposedly to save you money, buy an already produced aircraft and not pay the development costs... but it never really seems to work out that way, and so they usually end up with a far more expensive result. Sometimes you also may need an even more specialist configuration to the aircr
    1 point
  5. News! - Laminar Research : X-Plane12 Preview Just yesterday I did a full evaluation of the Simulation situation current to date in this year 2021, in our monthly "Behind The Screen" (May) edition. And lo and behold the next day out comes a preview video titled "X-Plane Technology Preview One"... did Laminar read our summation? I doubt it, but it does note the date, in that this weekend the original FlightSimExpo 21 was to have been held in San Diego (4th-6th June) that has now been rescheduled for September 24-26, 2021. Was this weekend originally supposed to have bee
    1 point
  6. In case anyone has forgotten, the day MSFS 2020 was released, there was absolutely NO user guide or manual of any kind. We had to search YouTube for any kind of help we could get. The release of MSFS 2020 was HUGE, and I think most of us expected some bugs, but certainly nothing like we waltzed into. So many settings, so much tweaking, and what turned out for many was so little control of the aircraft. We were given "promises" of scenery that was way beyond anything in any other flight sim. However, we were not told at that time that we would need to have a computer that would make NASA jealou
    1 point
  7. Yes, I would love a Trident III in this level of detail 🙂
    1 point
  8. I can not recommend this scenery highly enough. It is very good, especially, if you couple it with Ortho4Xp and Simheaven X-Europe 5.5. It is just so so good and would truly deserve to get its own review. As for the installation, when dealing with .exe installers: I can only recommend to create an empty folder and copy the Xplane11.exe into it. Point the installer to that folder, instead of your main sim-folder. Afterwards inspect the files that were dropped and manually copy them to your sims folder. I did so with EDDW and did not encounter any of the errors and debugg
    1 point
  9. No these jets can REALLY climb... 5000 fpm is normal, but most stay around 4000 fpm, the Challenger can climb to FL410 in 18 min, with a 14,330 kg (31,590 lb) weight. Weight and load is the key to getting the right climb rate, If I remember right DDenn provided the links to the data, if not then you may have to go searching for it.
    1 point
  10. Another fair review. Spent several minutes in the right pilot position fighting the collective then it dawned -left side is where the action is, why have right side controls if they don't do anything important? I agree it could stand a bit more refinement but for $25 it's not a bad deal.
    1 point
  11. Aircraft Review : Rutan Model-158 Pond Racer - Test-Pilot Project by vSkyLabs The bizarre and the unorthodox is littered with examples in aviation, more than really any other medium. Then aviation pushes the boundary on what can and even the unexpected of what has been achieved in relation to leaving the boundaries of not only above the ground but to go even beyond the planet Earth itself. The experimental aspect of flight is strewn with examples that pushed the boundaries forward, but was also the death of many a good pilot... the Model-158 Pond Racer is one such example.
    1 point
  12. News! - Aircraft Update : Airbus A350 v1.6.16 by FlightFactor There has been a really interesting updated by FlightFactor with their Airbus A350. Neglected for many years, lately the FF A350 has had a flurry of updates and all have been quite significant. The main restart update was the v1.6 update in July 2020, But there has been a few updates since then, and now another one. One thing to note is that the update is a particularly large at 1026Mb, and 1100 files, and far too many file changes for the noted changed items in the changelog? This update is focu
    1 point
  13. I guess the flight simulation community’s heart beats differently. We perhaps view such planes differently? The MD-11 has definitely something iconic about it and is definitely on my list of icons, headed by the DC-/C-47... I never actually set foot on the -11, I only flew in the predecessor DC10-30 that NWA used on some transatlantic routes. The aircraft is known to be a handful, it has had a number of accidents, it lands fast... In the sim, it was one of the best experiences I had with the fsx version by PMDG. I must have flown over 2 thousand sim hours on it, which is a lot for me. I
    1 point
  14. RJAA Narita is very good, but yes there is a very bad (you could call it a anti-MSFS) feeling in that we can do the same thing but for free. That is bad for the business, you need quality in the simulator and no matter how good the Global Airport tools are, they are still not a complete reproduction of the airport... this is damaging the simulator on many levels.
    1 point
  15. Ten bucks more than XPlane itself - believe I'll just struggle along.
    1 point
  16. Familiar ground. In January of 1974 I made the opening announcement "Kenai tower is now in operation". At the time I was on loan from Merrill tower in Anchorage and the new chief had been a supervisor at Merrill. It wasn't blue then and the airport was a lot less than it appears now. Here's me, spring of '74, in front of the new tower with my little Clipper.
    1 point
  17. Behind the Screen : Year in Review 2020 Even coming into the year 2020, you knew it was going to be confronting, and certainly the year did not let anyone down in that regard. But from a simulation aspect it was the introduction of the Microsoft Simulator in a completely different form and this time from game developers Asobo Studio's that was the major significant impact of the year, released on time August 18, 2020 it certainly got everyone's attention. You can argue about the new simulator's ramifications for years, but one thing was for sure was that the MSFS release was certai
    1 point
  18. Aircraft Review : Beechcraft Bonanza F33A XP11 by Carenado What makes up the criteria of your best aircraft to fly in X-Plane, or your favorite? This is not the best aircraft in X-Plane for overall features or details, but the best aircraft for you. For many user fliers it could be in a relation to a real aircraft, either in the one you own, owned or are now learning on, that particular aspect is important. But what about the rest of us... For me it is Carenado's Bonanza F33A and we go back a long, long... time. The aircraft originally was one of the first released for X-Plane by
    1 point
  19. MS2020 is rapidly turning into an airport simulator rather than a flightsim. I bought the cheapest version with low expectations on it. Maybe in a year or so it might have potential.
    1 point
  20. Considering all the ho ha, MSFS has gone extremely quiet recently... the obvious is obviously, why buy airports that you can't use? Yes the GA's are usable, but why would you spend money on a mega airport that is empty, to fly to another empty mega airport? Yes the Dev Houses are pumping them out, but to who... I did notice a few new MSFS users poking around in X-Plane, why because they can use it. In early 2021, I think the penny will drop for the Dev Houses... That MSAFS will not be the gold mine they expected, if that aspect has not already dropped... but blind faith.
    1 point
  21. You are right about having airports that form route networks, or at least provide some interesting alternatives in routes to fly. Looking at some of the airports under development or recently released for MSFS there’s a lot of niche stuff coming out. This for Xplane seems a worthwhile buy. Having said that I do wonder if developers really think about their release dates as carefully as they might. This appeared just as Steam, and to a less extent the Org store are having sales. That means you’re competing against 50% off items. There’s always a temptation to buy those items when th
    1 point
  22. CX_Fan

    My best ones.

    Goodbye, we will miss you. loved your amazing reviews also some lovely photos- I see you finally bought the 767
    1 point
  23. BernardoCasa

    My best ones.

    As a goodbye from this incredible website, I am leaving my best X-Plane photos. They aren't that good but I believe they are cool. Goodbye!
    1 point
  24. What X-Plane users need to remember is that the release of Vulkan v11.50 is only half the transition, the other elements like the mesh/textures, weather will now be needed to be modernised for more gains and better efficiency, plus bringing the cores on line as MSFS already does, now the main code is in place Laminar can revolutionise the whole package.
    1 point
  25. Aircraft Review : Airbus A310-304 by CremonaSoft Aviation in the 80s experienced many changes like the addition of new aircraft and rule modifications, such as ETOPS or Extended-range Twin-engine Operational Performance Standards. For those who don't know what ETOPS is, the shortest way to describe it is the maximum time in distance a twin-engine aircraft can be from an airport. Due to these regulations, most long-haul routes were dominated by quad and Trijet airlines, however, this started to change with the introduction of some fundamental aircraft. In the late 70s,
    1 point
  26. Aircraft Comparison : Boeing 777 vs Airbus A350 As you can see by the title, today we are going to compare the Boeing 777 and the Airbus A350 for X-plane 11, both Boeing and Airbus biggest twin-engine aircraft. The Boeing 777-200LR Worldliner is the long range variant from the 777 family, with a maximum range of 8,555 nm (15,843 km). This variant has increased MTOW, three optional auxiliary fuel tanks and wingtips. Equipped with GE90 engines it produces up to 230,000 pounds of thrust combined. Exactly 60 have already been delivered and its main operators are Delta Air Lines and Em
    1 point
  27. I checked my version and the SID/STARs work fine and I have updated recently up to AIRAC cycle 2008... the SSG B748i does have an odd navdata arrangement, it overall uses the X-Plane navdata, but there is an on board the aircraft version as well version noted as cycle 1707, there is an installer in the NavData installers folder.... I think you can update this by downloading it from Navigraph
    1 point
  28. I never saw any H Pads? and there were non noted either, so I don't think so, most H Pads are situated on the fringe of KLAS
    1 point
  29. Aircraft Review : Epic E1000 - G1000 Edition by Aerobask Like a lot of developers, then Aerobask have had to rethink their range of aircraft to migrate to the dynamics of X-Plane11. In the past between the X-Plane versions the changes were large, but in most cases an update or two would cover the conversion and the overall aspect of the design would in someways not really change. But for the migration to X-Plane11 and certainly to X-Plane11.30 then that earlier transfer does not really work.. the differences are just too different and are most aspects of the design, from the model
    1 point
  30. Aircraft Review : VAN's RV-10 by Digital Replica The American based Van's Aircraft RV-10 is a four-seat, single-engine, low-wing homebuilt aircraft that is sold in kit form by Van's Aircraft. It is the first four-seat airplane in the popular RV series. The RV-10 first flew on 29 May 2003, and the first kit parts were delivered to a customer in September 2003. As of October 2019, 933 RV-10s have been completed and flown so this is an immensely popular aircraft in this category. The total price of the standard-build kit is around US$46,090, which did not include an engine or any
    1 point
  31. Pros: Interiors and lighting are beautiful Sounds are also good Cons: No SID/STAR selection, which I believe is a missing essential. There are workarounds with simple FMC plugin or a script. But all these require an updated nav data from Aerosoft or Navigraph, which I purchased. But these are still not a great solutions to have a fully reliable configured flight plan. Also you can just generate your own .fms flightplan, which I haven't tried and not willing to. Lots of other features still missing, like ATC comm, which is supposedly very useful for getting an
    1 point
  32. I am disappointed that so many users don't get the issue that although the A321 looks the same as the A319 and yes they use a lot of the same components, the actual work and time required to put each together is about the same (it is not what you see modeling wise that counts here), NO there is not going to be a discount and NO why should the developer after all his hard work do so anyway, this is just X-Plane being very mean again and not supporting the simulator or their developers. The aircraft is worth it's full value!
    1 point
  33. I have to say, this developer is the worst I have experienced since using x-plane 11, and will not recommend buying any of their stuff. They all have bugs and issues, which I understand comes with new products, but these people are so arrogant about addressing and fixing it, and its so distasteful dealing with them especially when you are paying money for their products. I have purchased two products from them (The A320-200, and the Ground Handling). The A320-200 gives a multitude of problems which they take forever to address (Bare in mind its been 2 years since purchasing this plane and I ha
    1 point
  34. Free Aircraft Release! : Concorde by Dr Gary Hunter Growing up in the sixties was a time of huge speed advances. The predictions were of New York in 3 hours and Singapore in 7 hours via Bahrain, and then we went far faster again... to the moon. Looking back now it all feels like we lost have something, yes we can afford to travel the world on a few thousand dollars... but the excitement and the sheer feeling of the momentum of advances in technology has now been reduced to smart phones. The real tragedy was that the machines that gave us our b
    1 point
  35. Aircraft Review : 690B Turbo Commander by Carenado The Aero Commander series is one of the great aircraft designs that came out of the early 50's. Like the recently reviewed Aerostar 601P, the Aero Commander is large twin and is also originally a Ted R. Smith creation. First thing to note is that this 690B Turbo Commander is not an upgrade of another Carenado Aero Commander which is the Shrike 500s of which is in fact a very different aircraft. The 690B has in differencal a new wing centre section and a completely different engine configuration with the twin Garrett AiResearch TPE3
    1 point
  36. I believe people (on or in) these forums and social media are promoting (Aircraft's, etc, etc.) for personal gain. I believe, (my guess)....about 10% are giving true assessments of these products. I believe social media started out with people being (honest). I believe its turning into cooperate media. (lie after lie.)
    0 points
  37. Hello, how can I update this if I already have it? Or is it automatically updates ?
    0 points
  38. Install info is great but how the heck do you uninstall it?
    0 points
×
×
  • Create New...