Jump to content
  • Latest Posts

    • Aircraft Update Review: Magknight 787 v1.8   Introduction & History The Boeing 787 Dreamliner is perhaps one of the more well-known aircraft of the 21st century. Designed from the ground up as a replacement for the existing 767 line, its goal was to be the dream plane for pilots, operators, and passengers alike. With its streamlined flight deck, large screen displays, and perhaps the nicest feature, the brand new HGS displays for both the Captain and FO, a first in commercial airliners. For the passenger experience, the large windows, sweeping wings, and state-of-the-art pressurization system, it was certainly a welcomed improvement over its older 767 predecessor. For the airlines, the Dreamliner opened the doors to point to point flights, plus new direct flights to airports previously only reached by connecting flights, and with a range of 7,300 and 7,560nm for the 787-8 and -9, it has opened the doors to direct point to point flights.        The Magknight 787 has been in continuous development since 2018, and it has certainly shaped into a real promising representation of the 787, however, there are still major issues which haven’t been redone yet, but we will go over these in the review. Let’s get started!   Documentation & First Impressions The download and installation of the Magknight 787 is standard to that of almost any aircraft for X-Plane 11, with the aircraft being self-contained in a single folder. Version 1.8 brings the addition of the shorter 787-8, and upon first loading the flight I am greeted with the very familiar cockpit of the 787 with its unmistakable features, including that HGS, which I was quite excited to use as the only other HGS equipped airliner in the sim is the 737 by Zibo or Levelup and it is sadly not the most usable. My hopes were immediately dashed however as it turns out the HGS isn’t modelled in X-Plane 11 and will only be added for X-Plane 12, so the waiting game to use it begins, and I can only hope it gets the collimated treatment that it so deserves. Upon first inspection, the cockpit looks fantastic, and the exterior even better, so I’ve got no complaints there!     Electronic Flight Bag The 787 like all new generation Boeing wide bodies is equipped with an EFB to the left knee of the pilot, and I was eager to check it out to compare with the Boeing EFB I know from the PMDG 747 and 777. Powering it on I was greeted with a somewhat decent representation and at first, it looked great, however, I quickly realized it was missing some features. It did still have the TO and LDG performance calculator which I could use to pull the data to plug into the FMC which is the main feature I use.       Exterior Model & Texturing The exterior model of the 787 is for me one of the highlights of the aircraft. It looks really well done, with a well-detailed bump map, the details of the composite fuselage really stand out, and the wings look fantastic. The shaping of the nose has much improved over previous versions, and the overall look of the airplane has come up to a new level for Magknight. The overall shape of the airplane is really really well done and I appreciate the work that has gone into the airplane’s overall shape. The details are where it degrades in quality however, and the landing gear is especially lacking in detail compared with its realworld counterpart. The main struts and bogeys were simplified, and it sadly shows, but with a revamp of the gear that can be resolved. The other issue with the shaping I noticed was the jagged edges of the fuselage and engine shaping. I haven’t noticed it on other aircraft as much as on the Magknight, but it’s only visible when you’re looking for it. Overall, they did a good job with the exterior model.   Interior Model & Texturing The Interior model and texture which was redone in v1.6 looks far better than its predecessor and I’m happy to say it still looks fantastic. I really like the look of the real 787 cockpit, and this modeled version does it justice. The modeling of the switches, levers and other small items is done to a payware quality. The overall cockpit geometry is quite accurate though I don’t have a way to measure it, sorry. The best part that makes the cockpit stand out is the texture work; it looks simply awesome, and really brings the already good cockpit model to life, but sadly it gets let down by the next section.     Avionics Options & Systems While still being continuously updated, the Magknight 787 is in the end a work in progress payware and the avionics and systems depth really solidifies that, even with the beautiful looking exterior and interior model. First the positives. The displays look crisp, and the main systems are modeled allowing you to make a full flight, however too far outside the limits of a simple flight and the issues start showing. The aircraft is improving, however it still uses the default X-Plane FMC, and that really limits its functionality, and it is quite evident in the FMC’s abilities. When inputting the flight data, the FMC works fine and like I’d expect it to. The PERF page isn’t really modeled that well, the Thrust LIM page isn’t modeled at all, and the TO page isn’t either. This really threw me through a loop as coming from the Qualitywings 787 it was quite a different experience. The Vspeeds are inputted through the EFB rather than the FMC, which is incorrect but oh well, hopefully, it will be corrected in the future.     The next issue was the ND. While it looks good, the ND’s are limited in functionality. The well-known large screen map display in the 787 hasn’t been added yet, and it is impossible to pull it up, leaving you only the half display map option. Plan view isn’t yet implemented either which makes it a bit of a guessing game when planning your flight to find a waypoint if you need to. The options for displaying info on the ND is also quite limited and your options are not great. The last major issue I found with the ND is the path drawing on your flightplan. With the Magknight, only the line to your next waypoint is in magenta, with all following lines being white which is incorrect. These are the large issues I found on my flights with the 787 in terms of displays and systems, but the autopilot has issues from time to time, though not often, and on my flight from KSFO to EDDF, it didn’t have any problems. I hope these issues will be corrected with time and I fully believe they will, but they are for the time being still large issues that hinder the experience.   Flight Characteristics & Sounds The flight model is quite interesting for me. On one hand, it feels quite solid, and yet on the other, it feels very mushy and hard to control. At slow speeds, namely on approach, it likes to wander and twist when adding aileron input, so keep that in mind on your approaches. In most other areas of flight, it feels quite good but still different from the Qualitywings 787 I came from. That is a different bag however and it’s not completely fair to compare the two. I do think it has a few issues with the aileron control but all in all, it’s not half bad and is easily flyable which is a good plus, especially if you like to hand fly your approaches.     Conclusion The Magknight 787 is going to be difficult to sum up for me. It has a great model, and beautiful VC, yet the systems let it down so much. The overall experience could be so much better if Magknight put their resources into improving the avionics and flight deck of the 787, and that’s what this addon deserves. I will certainly continue following this aircraft, but I can only wonder what Magknight has planned to improve this aircraft and keep it competitive for X-Plane 12, especially with the 787 in development from Flight Factor.     So, the big question is, is this aircraft worth the $44.95 price tag? That I will leave up to you the consumer to decide. I really think it’s quite a good looking aircraft, but if that is all it is right now, then it sadly falls into a category many developers have slumped into with MSFS, eye candy with bad systems simulation. The shortcoming of the Magknight 787 is its reliance on default X-Plane 11 systems, and if they free themselves from that, I see this airplane becoming way better than it currently is. I would treat this as an investment, much in the same way as the SSG 747-8. You’re buying a work in progress addon, one that is flyable, but not to the quality of Flight Factor, or Toliss, etc. I want to be honest in my reviews, and I really hope Magknight can upgrade their avionics, and add that HGS so that it does justice to the amazing model they built for it.   _______________________________     The Magknight 787: Aviator's Edition v1.8.0  is now available from the X-Plane.Org Store here:   Magknight 787: Aviator's Edition Price at time of writing US$44.95   Requirements X-Plane 11  Free update to X-Plane 12 - when available Windows, Mac or Linux 4 GB VRAM Minimum - 8 GB+ VRAM recommended Download Size:  1 GB Current version : 1.8 (May 23rd 2022)   Review System Specifications Windows 11  Ryzen 5800x RTX3070ti,  32GB RAM   Changelog v1.8.0 Changelog v1.8.txt Full changelog details are here   __________________________________   Aircraft Review by Joshua Moore 11th August 2022 Copyright©2022: X-Plane Reviews   (Disclaimer. All images and text in this review are the work and property of X-PlaneReviews, no sharing or copy of the content is allowed without consent from the author as per copyright conditions.  
    • NEWS! - Scenery Released : RPVE - Boracay Caticlan Airport - Philippines by Airwil Sceneries     We're on a roll...  This is the third Filipino scenery in quick succession, and over as many weeks from Airwil Sceneries. This time it is Boracay (Caticlan) Airport, in Boracay, Philippines.   Boracay is one of the Philippines' best tourist destinations, and Boracay Airport is the seventh busiest airport in the Philippines despite having a runway just a little bit short of 1700 meters. Boracay Airport is just approximately 35 minutes away from Manila by plane. Flying from Manila or Cebu to this airport is one of many ideal short inter-island hops in the Philippines.   Features: (with more than 100 custom made objects) - Highly detailed Temporary Arrival Terminal (With Interior Modelling) - Included 1 ramp start/parking bay at the old ramp for users to still experience the Old Terminal (In real life, it is no longer used by aircraft - Highly detailed Departure Terminal (Located at the old apron/ramp) - Highly detailed Control Tower - Highly detailed Fire Department Building - Fully functional default ATC - On-going construction of the new Boracay Airport Terminal - On-going construction of Marriott Hotel just near the new apron - Highly detailed Jetty Port (The jump-off port for tourists to the island of Boracay) - Highly detailed Ramp area with lots of static objects - Custom Airline Buses - Custom Filipino Jeepneys - All houses within the vicinity are modelled to look like real Filipino Houses. - Color corrected orthophotos     If the collective sceneries are good and well priced. Then creating new networks to fly around them is a great adventure, I'm loving these quality airports, and at those under US$10 prices they are hard to beat.   Images are courtesy of Airwil Sceneries _______________________________   RPVE - Boracay Caticlan Airport - Philippines by Airwil Sceneries is NOW available! from the X-Plane.Org Store   RPVE - Boracay Caticlan Airport - Philippines Priced at US$9.99   Requirements X-Plane 11 - X-Plane 12 (when available) Windows, Mac or Linux 4GB VRAM Minimum - 8GB+ VRAM Recommended Download Size: 3.5 GB Current version : 1.0 (Aug 10th 2022) ___________________________   News by Stephen Dutton 11th August 2022 Copyright©2022: X-Plane Reviews   (Disclaimer. All images and text in this review are the work and property of X-PlaneReviews, no sharing or copy of the content is allowed without consent from the author as per copyright conditions) All Rights Reserved      
    • Aircraft Updated : Airbus A340-600 v1.1.1 by Toliss   ToLiSS has again done an update to the Airbus A340-600. It has only been 7 weeks since the last v1.1 changes (20th June), and yet here is another single digit v1.1.1 update, and and there is a lot in here for such a short time span. I doubt there will be another until the X-Plane12 version as the ToLiSS A346 is already basically X-Plane12 compatible. Updates can now be via the SkunkCraft's updater.   So lets get straight into the changes.     There are a few nice new features in this v1.1.1, so it is not restricted to just bug fixing and adjustments.   Refueling Biggest new feature is the Refueling truck(s) that add in "Slow" refueling to the aircraft. It is controlled by the ever expanding Interactive Audio Control Panel (IACP) on the radio "Intercom" and "Cabin Communication" buttons. (Made easier for VR users).   Dial in your Fuel load via -- / ++ selectors and press "Request Fuel", to load the aircraft     You now get some very nice animated fuel truck vehicles, one for under each wing that manoeuvre into place and start loading the set fuel load. The Fuel truck detail is very good, but with no fuel hoses to the wings? I wouldn't think this would be noticeable, but it is?     Nice touches are the ECAM messages "Refuel in Progress" and "Refuel Panel", while your fuel numbers go up slowly as per a slow refueling pattern. The Fuel amount is adjusted on the main TISCS menu, but you can't do it the other way around.     Overall the Refueling is a great addition.   PushBack The PushBack Truck has also had attention with a redesigned tug. Again it is set on the IACP with "Distance" and " Rotation" (Radius) adjustable. Notable though on the TISCS is the "Manual" option to steer the aircraft by your (Nosewheel) tiller, which is far better as the numbered auto version is hard to get right, as seen here. Overall I would still probably use the BetterPushBack tool as it works very well with the A346.       Cockpit Textures Again like in v1.1, here the cockpit textures have had more work done on them. Now we are seeing a more authentic Airbus texture feel...     ...  the textures are now starting to feel very, very good, and they should do because they have had a lot of attention in the A346, and a far cry from the earlier ToLiSS styled cockpits earlier. ToLiSS are experimenting here, but expect the same quality to flow into the other Airbus fleet from ToLiSS. Notable is that they are also more focused on X-Plane12's better more active lighting system than the current average X-Plane11 effects, so don't expect them to be really outstanding until we are in X-Plane12, then they should be glorious.   Window Effects Added has been the option to have either the window reflections and scratches effect, or clean windows. Selection is on the "General Settings/Visual Settings menu.     Two other features added are; DDRMI now shows the flags for HDG and invalid bearings as needed, and the custom engine model now writes to x-plane's native "engine running" dataref for improved compatibility with 3rd party addons.   SimBrief One of the great new features in V1.1 was the intergration of SimBrief into the ACARS or "Aircraft Communications Addressing and Reporting System".   This allowed you to easily transfer route data and flight details directly into the FMGS - Flight Management and Guidance System. As a time saver it is a precious tool, and I really love it. In v1.1 there have been two fixes...   The first one is the change from the Flight Number to the callsign in the INIT, directly from SimBrief.   The second change is the most important. In v1.1 the imported Ocean Tracks (NATS) didn't convert very well into the FMGS Flightplan, that has now been fixed. With the correct coordinates now inserted in the right order and data language, so any oceanic crossing is now far easier to install. Selective Runways and SID/STARS still have to set separately.   Finally the Destination airport elevation import with SimBrief import has also been fixed as well.   Seat Movements We all really, loved those seat movements with v1.1, well okay, but I am really crazy about them. Two things have been adjusted here, and includes that now the seat (or motors) don't work if the power is off. Secondly is that the animation (switch) hot area is now much larger, making it easier to find the controls and use them, even from above the seats without changing your viewpoint to operate them.     Window Lever v1.1 also brought us the opening side cockpit windows, but the handle used to go into the side of the EFB, that has now been fixed.     Last v1.1 notes include; IACP will now work in VR, and the white pointer on the ALT 100/1000ft selector and the baro unit selector is back.   Full Changelog v1.1.1 Minor new features: - Cockpit texture retuning - DDRMI now shows the flags for HDG and invalid bearings as needed - Custom engine model writes to x-plane's native "engine running" dataref for improved compatibility with 3rd party addons - Option to remove window reflections and scratches for those who do not like it - Improved pushback truck - Added fuel truck animations for slow refueling via IACP. Bug fixes: - Simbrief import now imports callsign instead of flight number - Simbrief import now correctly imports waypoints on NAT tracks - Destination airport elevation import with simbrief import fixed - No more "seat motor" sound if the aircraft is actually off (motor not powered) - No more shutdown of engines 1 and 2 when exiting replay - Improved size of seat adjustment size to allow finding it more easily. - IACP should now work in VR also - the white pointer on the ALT 100/1000ft selector and the baro unit selector is back. - Fixed the side window lever going through the EFB when opening the window.   For the short time period this a nice and even substantial update.     Comprehensive release review of the ToLiSS A340-600 is here: Aircraft Review : Airbus A340-600 by ToLiSS _______________ Summary This is the fifth update to the ToLiSS Airbus A340-600 since it's release in the Q3 2021, and another great one.   If only an incremental update. v1.1.1 has a few nice new features. There is now a slow refueling operation with two animated tankers, and an upgraded PushBack truck. Cockpit textures have again been revised, and the SimBrief intergation through the ACARS has been refined including fixing the important NATS waypoints. Seats and Window adjustments are done as well.   The changes and fixes here is another step ready for X-Plane12 (A small update for the new features will be released at the same time as the new X-Plane12 Simulator). Notable is that you can now update via the SkunkCrafts updater without downloading/reloading of the whole of the aircraft files.   Extremely popular, the ToLiSS Airbus A340-600 is one of the very best Airbus Simulations in the X-Plane Simulator, even exceptional. And they haven't finished yet. Now also X-Plane12 ready is a big step forward, and to be flying in X-Plane12 from day one is certainly a great attraction, and also a great current investment in that the changeover for the aircraft to X-Plane12 will be free to all current purchasers.   "Highly Recommended!" _______________________________     Yes! the Airbus A340-600 v1.1.1 by ToLiSS is available from the X-Plane.Org Store here : Airbus A340-600 by ToLiSS Price is US$89.99   Most accurate system functionality for any A340 aircraft in the flight simulation world   Requirements X-Plane only - not available for MSFS Support for X-Plane 11 and X-Plane 12 when available Windows, Mac or Linux 4 GB VRAM Minimum - 8 GB+ VRAM Recommended Download Size: 1.2 GB Current version: 1.1.1  (August 9th  2022)   Changelog v1.1.1 Changelog v1.1.1.txt Full changelog details are here _____________________   Update Review by Stephen Dutton 10th August 2022 Copyright©2022: X-Plane Reviews   Review System Specifications:  Computer System: Windows  -S1700 Core i7 12700K 12 Core 3.60 GHz CPU / 64bit -32 Gb single 1067 Mhz DDR4 2133 - ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb - Samsung Evo M2 2TB SSD - Sound : Yamaha Speakers YST-M200SP Software:   - Windows 10 - X-Plane 11.55 Plugins: Global SFD plugin US$30.00 : RK Apps XPRealistic v2 - US$34.99 Scenery or Aircraft - EGKK - London Gatwick Airport v2 by Pilot+Plus (X-Plane.OrgStore) - US$21.00   (Disclaimer. All images and text in this review are the work and property of X-PlaneReviews, no sharing or copy of the content is allowed without consent from the author as per copyright conditions) All Rights Reserved  
    • Good Point Stephen, I'll give it a try and see, but you're right, FPS hit will likely be an issue, let's hope SFD does the city pack
    • The problem is with that in using the freeware SFO city objects , is that you are doubling up the objects by doubling up the sceneries, I noted a significant framerate drop by using Tom Curtis Golden Gate scenery package to do the same thing, on top of an already bombastic object count. I would look at as a short term fix, and a hopeful dedicated San Fran City Pack from ShortFinal.
    • Top form on this one.  SFD sets a very high bar for airport sceneries - his freeware is better than a lot of payware.
    • Bought this today. It should almost be mandatory for other scenery developers to study this to see what can be achieved. Truly excellent.
    • Hi Steven,    Thanks for another excellent review for what seems to be a fantastic rendition of KSFO, which I will certainly purchase in the very near future. Regarding the absence of the city buildings, and while awaiting a potential add-on pack from SFD, I read on the dedicated .org forum thread that it's possible to install this pack on top of the freeware one, which includes the city, thereby alllowing the city part of the freeware pack to be seen. Sounds like a good idea, will definitely try it when I get the payware.
    • I bought this recently. A very pleasant aircraft for casual flights. Would strongly recommend it and can only envy the now lower price.
    • NEWS! - Aircraft Updated : Diamond DA40NG v1.1.1 by SimSolutions     SimSolutions have done another nice little update v1.1.1 to their Diamond DA40NG aircraft. The DA40NG is a four seat, single engine aircraft. It is equipped with a Austro Engine AE 300 and is an upgrade to the existing DA40. Running on Jet A fuel and certified in April 2010, the DA40NG has seen more than 500 models produced.   The v1.1.1 update is modest but the aircraft does have some new features, including; added animated switches, added metric altitude (accessible via PFD → ALT UNIT) and added transmit & receive indicators (xPilot only for now).   This DA40NG was originally WINDOWS only, but is now available for all three platforms of Windows, Mac and Linux (and tested on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS).   Changelog Version  1.1.1 (August 5th 2022) ## Features - Added animated switches - Added metric altitude (accessible via PFD → ALT UNIT) - Added transmit & receive indicators (xPilot only for now) ## Minor Changes - Updated sounds - Hide passengers when chocks are on - Add option to unhide flaps and trim from G1000 - Cover blue borders in pop outs - ECU output load should no longer be calculated when the engine is off - Removed libradio (for now) ## Fixes - Fixed trim/elevator deflection, trim travel time, and airfoils - Fixed engine starter for Saitek panels - Added missing stall horn - Fixed high electrical load         Highlights include "Custom" FMOD Sounds by FTSim+ and AviTab integration (AviTab Plugin required).   The aircraft is currently on sale at US$18.71 down from the retail Price:$24.99, so you Save:$6.28(25%)   Images are courtesy of SimSolutions ________________________________________     The Diamond DA40NG by SimSolutions is now available from the X-Plane.OrgStore!... Here:   Diamond DA40NG Price is US$24.99 (Current sale price sale at US$18.71)   Requirements X-Plane 11 Windows, Mac  and Linux ((tested on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS) 4 GB+ VRAM Download Size: 377 MB Current version: 1.1.1 (August 5th 2022) ________________   NEWS! by Stephen Dutton 6th August 2022 Copyright©2021: X-Plane Reviews   Disclaimer. All images and text in this review are the work and property of X-PlaneReviews, no sharing or copy of the content is allowed without consent from the author as per copyright conditions) All Right Reserved.    
×
×
  • Create New...