Jump to content

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Today
  2. Behind the Screen : May 2020 The month of May had a bit of everything, but the biggest overwhelming point was that how far we have really come in simulation. This aspect comes in, in various ways, but the march into the future just continues. One aspect that I loved in May was actually an old X-Plane feature, this was reflections. Reflections got sidelined for me about five years ago as the processing pressure built and the complexity came in... framerate rules! You couldn't have this processor intensive feature running as it sucked too much computing power away from the simulator, was it really a significant requirement in the simulator, no not really compared to the other required default effects you wanted running, so the slider went to zero and stayed there. Vulkan changed all that. Suddenly you had all this extra processing power and it turned into an absolute field day of options, nice options. Notably I have never been a greedy user, more than willing to except a more benign simulation than a slideshow, but there are some options or features that I can not have running, hence the above acceptance of a certain loss of what the Americans call "Eye Candy", and that is okay. So when Vulkan gave your graphics a huge new working space, then the sliders went up and the results are really good, the only compromise has been the shadows on scenery feature, that option was just one expense too far, a very much a nice to have, but the framerate loss is just not worth it.... but back to reflections. I was doodling about in the Italian Dolomites for the ever expanding "Dolomite 3D" series from Frank Dainese and Fabio Bellini, all are worth visiting and the concept is now with this third installment and now covering a significantly huge area, but the Belluno pack had something else I didn't have in the earlier two packages and that was reflections. It felt so much more different, at first I couldn't understand what was actually different as the Belluno pack is not that much in context any different from the first two Dolomite packages, but then I realised the mountains were reflecting into or onto the lakes and rivers. The extra effect now is mesmerising and much more highly realistic as that just this one extra feature could produce such a significant change to the visual look of the simulator... flying low over the lakes the mountains reflected below, then moving to the newly released (excellent) Copenhagen XP scenery you also got a lot of bonuses, mostly from the Øresund Bridge of which at dusk created some really amazing images, and brought back to me such earlier X-Plane scenes of lights set around harbours and reflecting into the water. It was at this point I suddenly really realised how much I missed the feature, a small thing no doubt, but an important one to create that full visual aspect of realism, and yes I know that I over use the words "Realism" and "Realistic", but that is the constant goal in recreating the real world on a computer screen. I marveled at the port reflections last month in Barcelona, and now most coasts have a reflection boundary that just nicely smooths out the edges, so if you can go that extra processing mile then put the slider up and you won't be disappointed. Notably Vulkan will change that realism aspect, and give you more power for less. But it is in the dynamic areas it will have a bigger impact, how much so is to wonder if the changes we have seen since X-Plane9, that in five years you can't even compare the visual dynamics of a fully featured X-Plane 11 visual scene, not only in the cockpit with its extraordinary light and shadows, but the complexity of light shading on scenery. Again the FlyTampa Copenhagen's use of metal and glass was simply awe-inspiring and the same excellent visuals are replicated in many a review. Not all shading works though, notably are some trees that come across as one dimensional, light on one side but dark on the other you don't get any realism but the cardboard cutout effect. Obviously a hard one to fix because trees with their sheer numbers have to have a very minute footprint, so they can't be complex. However I still think it is worth investigating why some work extremely well in the light and shadow effect but others trees look simply awful, worse is when the scenery developer is too lazy to match them up. To a point Vulkan has given us some breathing space. The "Turing" Raytracing graphic cards are out of most but for only the hardcore users in cost, and so is the Radeon RX 5700 series which a little cheaper... the coming Nvidia GeForce RTX 3080 is said to be also thankfully cheaper. So the question is what is the next step, or with the extreme changes we have already been through put us into a position were we are already at a high point. Don't send me comments on how games are going to be more extreme, more detailed and come with more lighting effects... because simulation is a very different engine than the boxed in world of a game, anyway the word around is that even gaming is reaching a point that you must not soon expect the same huge leaps in graphic power that has been done over the last ten years, as it is like running the four minute mile the closer you get to line then the harder it is to make a bigger difference on the clock. Yes there will be advancement, but the changes will be slower and longer. Again in Vulkan the Graphic Card is now not the be and end all of your computer visual power either. As you used to have spent months dissecting graphic card specifications in relation to your hardware, there now comes the issue of having the right processing chips as well, because in Vulkan they now both count big time, and finding the perfect running mates will bring you benefits, and so having odd processor combinations will of course mean one is working far harder than the other. I think there needs to be some guidance here in that aspect, as even my eyes blur at the specifications and overwhelming details of processors and the fastest set up for "Tour of Duty" is very different for the current single piping of X-Plane. But what of the future now with Vulkan almost in vogue... all Laminar's focus has been on this one absolute goal, sadly the Vegas Expo has been called off, so there will be now no announcements from Nevada. My guess is that Laminar will give a huge sigh of relief on that one, as time is not in their pocket, but I do think they have a few things interesting in coming. On that note it is surprising in the comments is that how many users are running their X-Plane simulations (mostly with the sliders at max) at or in a lot of cases below the 19 frame threshold, some are even doing their simulations in single digits, just so they can have the full visual impact! Now that is just simply crazy, worse is the grind on your graphic card, as it will burn out if you continue with that high cost of grinding through frame after frame and that is an expensive fix, what are they doing? The new VRAM Profiler (Menu/Developer/Show VRAM profiler) gives you now a view into this processing world, and how much processing is taken up on items that have absolutely nothing to do with your current simulation? In mine I have the B777 taking up 1.35mb of processing power by just sitting in my aircraft folder? you work that out, so that came out, as did five other aircraft using up processing power for doing absolutely nothing either? go on look at your own profiler, you will be really shocked at what you are non-running? It is going to be interesting on how developers are going to have to make their products more compliant to the simulator in this aspect. On the Vulkan Beta it is now getting there and even close to a RC or Release Candidate. Most of the aircraft and plugins have also been adjusted including the ToLiSS A319/A321 series, I personally really missed the Airbuses and was very excited to get them back, the FlightFactor A320 Ultimate is still MIA and waiting for the final v11.50 release of which I makes me want it more. As is for the most missing aspect of my simulation package and that is xEnviro, I can't even use my usual fallback v1.07 in Vulkan and that is a real pain as the default weather look is very bland (meaning boring) no matter which way you look at it, but I am not holding my breath for xEnviro to update either, but I really miss it... a lot. A note that June is X-Plane birthday month, not the actual simulator itself but for the X-Plane.Org, which was started 20 years ago, yes you read that right in twenty years ago. Would X-Plane as a simulator still be a going concern without the .Org? Personally I don't think so, as one without the community behind it would not have expanded or been so involving without the huge contributions the .Org contributes, one large star revolves around the other in creating a total X-Plane universe. Another milestone was that the X-Plane simulator itself past 100.000 files as it's basic installation, when I started 10 years ago that number was 28,000 files, but I will note a few of those files are Global Airport files, but it is still a huge growing number of files to update the simulator. So sitting here at the end of May it seems we have come through a storm, but seem to be better for it on the other side (a bit like the coronavirus in passing)... like everything around us June will be interesting, but I will take for once boring, even normal and just to have a non-eventful month. Stephen Dutton 1st June 2020 Copyright©2020 X-Plane Reviews
  3. Yesterday
  4. Confused? JARDesign don't have a B767, that is FlightFactor... or is it the A330?
  5. Hallo Stephen. I say before I want JARDESIGN A330-200, but then I see this B767-300ER. They have similar range so I am wonder, how is FPS compared to zibo and jar A330 (JARDesign Gave me temporary serial to test fps) on 767? Thank you 😊
  6. Thank you. I think I will get B777-200LR, A330-200 then toliss A319/A321. i hear toliss is similar to FFA320U for system but better in framerate so I will get it. PS is the toliss a321 better than a319? thank you.
  7. Choice of a A320 is easy as it is the FlightFactor Ultimate, expensive but well worth it, the others are grouped into dated... A330-300, B777-200LR. The JARDesign A320neo has its huge fanclub, but for official Airbus rules (Laws) then only the FF A320U and the ToLiSS A319/A321 are certified, if you are very good on the Zibo B737 then you will need the equal status study level and that means only the FlightFactor/ToLiSS. The A330 is actually very good, but again no Airbus Laws, but as a simulation is it is fine, I still like the B777 but as noted you will find it now a bit old, but purchased on a sale price and you won't be disappointed.
  8. Hello I am new to this website. i have ZIBO 737-800X and want some payware so I want 777-200LR Worldliner professional, JARDesign A330-200, and an a320. i want either JARDESIGN A320neo or ToLiSS A319-100. I am new to airbus so which one should I get? And should I get 330 or 320 (if it’s jar 320)first? Thank you.
  9. Yeah the JARDESIGN 320 is quite good but the 380 is way to outdated and the 777 is just decent/average
  10. Last week
  11. Yes you can believe that, but it shows that updates and changes are the lifeblood of any aircraft, for everything the A320neo is still quite flyable so a lot of credit to JARDesign, hopefully the other two can be given a new life and a future.
  12. ciao rhosy, ci sono due 777 aerei nel menu del velivolo, non selezionare quello con un'icona incrociata perché quello dell'aereo x 10
  13. ciao sono Rhosy un cliente di x plane 11--- ho comprato e scaricato B777 200LR ma mi da un problema di gioco, all'avvio del modello velivolo mi VIENE SCHERMATA BLU' E MI SI APRE UNA FINESTRELLA CHE DICE " INCOMPATIBILITÀ FILE CON X PLANE 11...... PERCHÉ ? QUALCUNO CHE SA PUÒ SPIGARMI CORTESEMENTE... GRAZIE
  14. glad to hear that, and hopefully see new stuff coming along. Finishing up the UH-60 has top priority.
  15. Is this good? I am interested because my favorite airlines operate A330-300 but jar is A330-200. i have jar but interestedly in this. Those are barely needed. Even ff a320 don’t have pilots models. and I heard IXEG733 doesn’t have doors.
  16. Quick Impression : KOAK - Oakland International by Departure Designs I still believe that the approach into Oakland's Rwy 12 is one of the very best in X-Plane. Flying in a full flap slow approach speed you get glimpses of the Gold Gate Bridge (The big red one), the classic city of San Francisco on your right and then the brilliant low pass over the Oakland Bay Bridge, and in you go into OAK's Rwy 12... the landing experience here never ceases to excite me. There has been only one decent San Francisco and Oakland package and that was from Tom Curtis (Golden Gate), and yes there was a very good KOAK scenery as part of the pack, but that was released way back in 2013... which in X-Plane terms is that it is now quite old. So here is another KOAK-Oakland International from Departure Designs. I was quite indifferent to their KFLL- Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International, of which in areas it was very good, but in other areas it was a little patchy... so let us look at Oakland. My immediate response was to those very dark if black ground textures? and yes they are quite darkish brownish around areas of Rwy 12/30, but the eastern side of KOAK is actually a Golf Course and that is not dark at all but all nice and green. So the package does not blend in well to the X-Plane mesh here at all, and the boundaries can be clearly seen and worse close up they are not so nice either? The black patch (below left) is actually a lake? Is KOAK really like this? so I checked, no it isn't and neither is it a scorched earth policy at OAK either, So I don't like first off the overall look of the scenery as it is not at all realistic? KOAK is a significant cargo hub more than an commercial passenger airport, even then it is dominated by LCCs (Low Cost Carriers), or for more prominently for the El Cheapo Southwest Airlines. OAK Commercial Terminal area is to the south by the Rwy 30 Threshold... OAK has two passenger terminals - T1 & T2. The terminals are connected at post-security and gate areas, enabling arriving passengers to go straight to their connecting flights without having to re-enter the security check. U.S. Customs & Border Protection federal inspection facilities are located in Terminal 1. Terminal 1 serves Alaska Airlines, Allegiant Air, American Airlines, Azores Airlines, Contour Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Hawaiian Airlines, Spirit Airlines and Volaris. (while Norwegian ticket counters are located on level 2?). Level 2 houses the security check with access to gates 1–17 (gates 1 & 3 are international gates) near gate 4 is a connector to gates 20–32 of T2. Terminal 1 has a passenger transit area and the majority of the Port's aviation department offices are located in Terminal 1. Terminal 2 functions as the operating base for Southwest Airlines, and it has a baggage claim area and ticketing desks, with security checkpoint in the center and access to gates 20–25 and gates 26–32. At T2's gate 20 is the connector to T1's gates 1–17. Terminal modeling and design is far better than at KLFF, and thankfully the glass also looks realistic, so overall the terminal construction is very good. Rooftop phototextures are however really low-res, my graphic settings are all set at maximum, but they look like they are set at the lowest setting? a shame because the terminal buildings are very good, and the rooftop detail is also very good. Only Terminal 2 interior is detailed, but it is again very Low-Res affair and only to be viewed externally. SAM - Scenery Animation Manager plugin is available with Marshaller guidance, the airbridges are very well done and highly realistic and a highlight of the scenery. Ramp clutter is excellent and airline branded, but there is no ramp traffic. Remote stands "Tango" also has a "Ground Runup" (engine test bay) on the north end. A380/B748 aircraft can land on runway 12/30 and use taxiway W, but parking for the E size aircraft is restricted to the Tango zone. Landside is again totally ruined by the heavy Low-Res textures? I have come to accept Low-Res landside layouts, but this is horrible... .... carparks are well filled with 3d vehicles and the elevated rail is really actually well done, but it has no animated trains to use it, traffic does flow around the terminals so all is not lost. There is a huge facility called "Oakland Maintenance" on and near the entrance to the terminals landside, there is some nice advertising, but it is inversed on the side facing the airport? KOAK is of course a major cargo hub, with the large Oakland Sea Port not far from the airport, and FedEx has a large cargo base here. The FedEx aprons are well done and great for all the haulers out there. The KOAK Control Tower is set directly behind the FedEx base.... .... the tower is well modeled but looks not to be textured, and so also looks unfinished? Tower View is excellent on all four runways and approaches. Oakland International Airport IATA: OAK - ICAO: KOAK - FAA LID: OAK 12/30 - 10,520ft (3,206m) Asphalt 10R/28L - 6,213ft (1,894m) Asphalt 10L/28R - 5,458m (1,664m) Asphalt 15/33 - 3,376ft (1,029m) Asphalt Elevation AMSL 9 ft /3 m In many ways KOAK is a split airport with Rwy 12/30 on the west side and three runways 10R/28L, 10L/28R and 15/33 on the eastern side, and connecting the two areas is Taxiway B. This Taxiway B goes over the Ron Cowan Pkwy via a taxiway bridge. The bridge is a bit rough, but useable, again the very poor textures around it don't define the taxiway bridge very well. The three runways would be classed for GA and Light Jet operations, mostly they are all quite short in length. East/GA There is an assortment of General Aviation and Private Jet facilities and hangarage along the eastern boundary and fronting Taxiway C Generally it is well done, but a few of the textures are quite Low-Res including the signage and there a few nice static aircraft placed here as well, "Signature Aviation" are represented (twice?). Ground Textures The ground textures are a mixed bag, and overall I would call them amateurish... most grains are direct and not to the shape or lines of the taxiway or runway, patches are sharp, cut and not very realistic... ... worse are the sharp edges and it all looks crappy, because it is. Again the very dark underlays don't help out here either.... a bit of a dogs breakfast. The crucial approach area just north of Rwy 12 is awful as well, flat photo buildings don't look at all realistic, and there has been no effort to cover them... ... in one word "Ugly". Lighting The biggest bonus of the lighting is that being in the dark hides those horrible textures, but overall the lighting is pretty average as well. Approach and taxiway lighting is fine. The terminal area is not bad with two tone lighting for the Tango and main apron areas... .... down on the ramps it is not bad, but the light throw isn't very long, glass is not bad either and see through, so airside gets a pass... landside however and the lighting is terrible. Terminal glass is deathly, old-fashioned and not much of it... .... carparks are JUST passible with some spot lighting, but that is about it, however the remote cargo ramps are not too bad. FedEx Hub is very average and even the FedEx sign is not lit? ditto the crude Control Tower lighting, very basic. East boundary is not much better, a few sets of gantry lighting, a few lit advertising signs and that is about it? Summary Departure Designs are pumping scenery and airports out like no tomorrow, the list is big and growing fast... but we want quality and not quantity and the production line effect is creating B or C grade products. I really wanted to like KOAK-Oakland, but the only way to love it is to visualise the airport after a firestorm has swept through the area, those ground ortho textures are simply blackly horrible, in fact a lot of the textures are too far Low-Res and even nasty. Ground textures and their poor edging are also not visually good either, however the detail around the terminal airside is very good, but it ends there. Landside is average and so is the control tower, but overall nothing can shine here with these overwhelming textures, and in other areas it is photo flat and boring and simply ruins any decent airport approach. And what a terrible shame it all is as OAK's position on the east side of San Francisco Bay is one of the best locations you can get. SAM is a big attraction, and better glass in terminals helps again airside as is the good and branded clutter, but the positive list here is not good or a long one. My first impression of Oakland International was not great, and it sadly went downhill from there, and it is sad overall because I really wanted a good working KOAK as it has so many route benefits, but this Departure Design version is not going to be that OAK scenery. _____________________________________ Yes! KOAK - Oakland International by Departure Designs is available from the X-Plane.Org Store here : KOAK - Oakland International Price is US$24.95 Features: Heavily optimized Airport PBR Textures throughout Airport Rain Textures SAM Jetways Implemented Taxiway Bridge Highly detailed Custom Animated SAM Jetways Custom WT3 support prepared by Captain K-Man Custom Night Lighting color graded Satellite Imagery High Resolution 4K Textures Terminal layout circa Q2 2020 Ortho4XP Compatible WT3: WorldTraffic GroundRoutes are not provided Requirements: X-Plane 11 Windows, Mac or Linux 4GB VRAM Minimim - 8GB+ VRAM Recommended Current and Review version: 1.0 (May 24th 2020) Installation Download scenery file size is 1.62gb: Dep_KOAK - Oakland International Total scenery installation is quite big : 3.13gb SAM Plugin - Scenery Animation Manager - Suite 1.0 is required for this scenery Documents One extensive manual in English with notes (2 pages) but no charts OAK Manual.pdf _____________________________________________________________________ Quick Impression Review by Stephen Dutton 29th May 2020 Copyright©2020 : X-Plane Reviews (Disclaimer. All images and text in this review are the work and property of X-PlaneReviews, no sharing or copy of the content is allowed without consent from the author as per copyright conditions) Review System Specifications:  Computer System: Windows - Intel Core i7 6700K CPU 4.00GHz / 64bit - 32 Gb single 1067 Mhz DDR4 2133 - ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb - Samsung Evo 1TB SSD Software: - Windows 10 - X-Plane 11.41 - tested v11.50.b9 (fine) Addons: Saitek x56 Rhino Pro system Joystick and Throttle : Sound - Bose Soundlink Mini Plugins: Traffic Global (Just Flight) US$52.99 Scenery or Aircraft - Default Boeing 737-800 by Laminar Reserch
  17. Hi guys, you are wrong about the aborted development. it is still on... and updates for all BFDG planes should be released in the next months. Best Chuck BFDG Developer
  18. Earlier
  19. Another excellent review and I agree with every word you say. Brilliant 👍
  20. The REP pack goes into the PC12's Plugin folder, not the X-Plane/resources/plugins folder... the other items directly into your X-Plane root folder?
  21. I haven't downloaded the new v1.5.0 version yet so I can't comment, will do this week and see how it goes.
  22. I have tried many times to install the REP into my PC12 REP folder but it never works and does not come up on my plugins tab. Can you help? Thanks
  23. Hi Stephen, I'm following your page since i was switching partly over to XP11 and i was really impressed about quality and depth of your Reviews, It helped me a lot with my decissions. I've just a short question regarding this 787 now.... Have you already tried the new advertised "JUMP to WAYPOINT FEATURE"? Is it working something like in the QW787 for P3D, so is it possible to jump for several 1000nm's for example? If so, is the function stable? Thank you, Alex from EDDM
  24. Scenery Review : CYVR - Vancouver International Airport by GloballArt Vancouver is Canada's third biggest city, with the second busiest airport in the country. Often described as a trans-Pacific hub, it has more direct flights to China than any other North American airport. YVR is in being an important hub for Air Canada and WestJet, as well as a relevant operations base for Air Transat. This huge airport enplaned and deplaned more than 1.1 million passengers in March, with more than 17,650 aircraft runway movements in the same month. Vancouver airport also had more than 1,860 non-runway movements, which includes floatplanes, charters and helicopters. This incredible airport didn't have a payware version for X-Plane, until GloballArt released their version of Vancouver International Airport. GloballArt is a well-known scenery designer for X-Plane, being Toronto Pearson International one of its most famous products. A few days ago they released their replica of Vancouver International Airport, a great addition for the X-Plane community. Vancouver International Airport IATA: YVR - ICAO: KFLL 08L/26R - 9,940ft (3,030m) Concrete 08R/26L - 11,500ft (3,505m) Asphalt/Concrete 13/31 - 7,300ft (2,225m) Asphalt/Concrete Elevation AMSL 13 ft / 4m The airport by itself almost occupies all the small island called "Sea Island". It is divided into three terminals, which are the Domestic, International and South terminals. Domestic Terminal This is the first terminal we are going to talk about. Divided into three concourses, A B C, the terminal has 49 parking positions, most being equipped with jet bridges. All concourses will receive expansions, which will increase the terminal capacity. Concourse A Concourse A is the smallest of the three. It has few jet bridges, so most of the aircraft parked there need to planed and deplaned outside the building. Concourse B Many airlines operate in concourse B, Westjet, Sunwing and Air North are some examples. Differently from concourse A, this one has jet bridges in almost all gates. All airport jet bridges are very nice, very similar to the real ones, which also have "HSBC" wrote on them. GloballArt uses AutoGate plugin to animate the jetways, this means you have to install it if you want them to work properly. Concourse C Concourse C is the biggest concourse in the domestic terminal, with Air Canada being its main operator. It has more gates, with and without jet bridges, than the other concourses in the Domestic Terminal. As well as the others, Concourse C will receive a major expansion planned in the Master Plan 2037. Even though the airport doesn't have interior modeling, the external details of the building are quite nice. International Terminal Compared to the Domestic one, this terminal is quite bigger, and unlikely the other terminal, there are 2 concourses instead of three. Concourse D Used by all international flights from Vancouver, this concourse has 15 gates, all being able to handle wide-body aircraft. Seven of the gates are fitted with 2 jet bridges, two which can handle the enormous Airbus A380, operated seasonally by British Airways. As well as all the other concourses, Master Plan 2037 includes an expansion for concourse D, named Pier D, which will be the first expansion to be concluded. As you can see, the main structure of the new building is almost ready. GloballArt has modeled it, and a very nice construction site too. Concourse E The last one is Concourse E, which is the US preclearance area and has 21 gates, 17 being equipped with jetways. The majority of US-bound flights operate from Concourse E; the only exceptions are flights from an international origin (Cathay Pacific's Hong Kong—Vancouver—New York and Philippine Airlines' Manila—Vancouver—New York flights), or flights that depart after 8:30 p.m. (e.g. Delta Air Lines' Vancouver—New York flight). The gates E75 to E78 can accommodate smaller wide-body aircraft, and are swing gates which can be used for international departures, as gates D75 to D78. It is good to note that gate E95 accesses both the E95A and E95B stands. Differently from all other four concourses, the E one will receive two building expansions. The first one, Pier E, will give Concourse E more space for operations, while the Pier F/East Concourse will create a whole new wing for the airport. The of the Vancouver Airport Authority said that this expansion will start shortly after the conclusion of the Pier D. South Terminal The South Terminal is a portion of the original pre-1968 terminal which is still in use. This includes the floatplane terminal. It also houses the corporate headquarters and main base of Pacific Coastal Airlines and Harbour Air. The South Terminal serves regional airlines that fly mostly within British Columbia, in addition to helicopters and chartered flights. Surrounding Areas Here I will show all the buildings and features near the South Terminal, which mostly consist of General Aviation aprons and private hangars. As I said earlier, this area has the General Aviation aprons as one of its main characteristics, and GloballArt make sure to add them. There are many places to park your plane, helicopter and even sea-plane. There are many hangars here too, and most of them are the same as the real ones. Million Air, Signature Air Support, London Aviation and Shell are some good examples. All hangars are custom built and very realistic. The surrounding areas of the South Terminal have a very unique thing, which isn't found in most airports. Noise management is one of the main focus of the YVR airport, and post-maintenance engine test produces a lot of noise. With that in mind, YVR airport constructed an Engine Testing Facility, which was modeled by GloballArt. East and Northeast Areas These two areas of the airport majorly consist of cargo hangars and ramps. The airport most noticeable features in the East region are the Purolator and FedEx cargo facilities, as well as Air Canada and Jazz Hangars. In the NorthEast area of the airport, next to the runway 26R is the UPS building, very nice and detailed. A few meters from the UPS facility is located the huge Canada Post building. Main Terminal There are many interesting things in the Main Terminal or very close to it. Starting with the control tower, which isn't incredible but has some details like the lights and antennas. Vancouver Airport has two, of many, characteristics features, the Skytrain and the Fairmont Hotel. The Skytrain station is pretty nice, very good modeling, and connects Vancouver to its Airport. The fact that GloballArt included a moveable train is very nice. The Fairmont Hotel is a very beautiful and iconic construction at the airport. Located on the East side of the building, in front of Concourse E, the hotel has 386 rooms, and if you be lucky, you may get a room facing the beautiful airport. De-icing zone Vancouver airport has 10 communal de-icing bays and more than 20 de-icing trucks, which are extremely necessary during the cold weather. GloballArt has already implemented this feature in the Montreal Airport, and it worked with most aircraft. However, in this airport only the VDGS works, no de-icing trucks, this way you can only simulate the de-icing procedure with de-ice included aircraft, like the Zibo 738. Note that the VDGS shows the indications for all supported aircraft, so if you want, you can stay there for a few minutes and imagine that your plane is being de-iced. Mesh and Custom Buildings The package also includes a mesh, even though the areas around the airport are mostly plain, and a few custom buildings. These buildings a nice, however they don't have winter textures, differently from the airport. Ground Textures The ground textures are very good, during both day and night. There is a wide variety of surfaces, especially in the taxiways and runways, and they are all very detailed. The taxi lines textures are pretty nice too, with some showing usage cracks and others seem to be new. The runway textures are beautiful, which gives you the feeling of a used runway. A very nice detail that GloballArt inserted in their product is the smooth and high-quality textures transition between taxiways and land, making the airport way more immersive. If I am not wrong, you can apply this by using the well-known decals in your Orthophotos. GloballArt also included a very nice feature related to ground textures in the airport, wet ground textures. These files add the wet appearance to the ground, which gives the airport extra realism. Even after the rain stopped, the ground remains wet and shows many puddles. The airport includes 3D grass, but just like the real one, it isn't present in most parts of the airport. This occurs, most of the time, because the snow covers the land for a considerable time during the year, killing it. Lighting Probably one of the most important things in an X-Plane airport, the lighting in Vancouver airport is pretty nice. No lights are missing, runways, taxiways, roads, terminals, etc... Are all illuminated. The lights around the gates are pretty good, making it very easy to see and maneuver your aircraft. The lighting at the South Terminal region is pretty good too, as well as in the main terminal and its surrounding areas. The only downside related to the airport lighting is the textures, especially the ones from the Main Terminal. They don't look as good as during the day. _________________________________ Summary CYVR Vancouver International Airport by GloballArt is a solid airport, delivering what you would expect from it. This airport is the type you like and doesn't get disappointed at all, even though some things could be improved. The modeling is pretty good, especially in certain areas like Pier D. Ground textures are very nice as well, with a great variety of surfaces and beautiful textures, including wet ground textures. GloballArt included winter textures and custom mesh in the airport files, as two different folders. The fact that the airport doesn't have a modeled interior is one of the downsides. The addition of this feature would make the terminal way more beautiful for two reasons, being the first and most obvious, a modeled interior, and the second transparent windows. Having transparent windows would remove the current textures, which could be better, not just in the Main Terminal building, but in all objects around the airport, like jet bridges. It is very important to note that the airport has Stop Bars, a light system located in the runway holding position. I couldn't show you this because it only works when you are connected to a server like IVAO and VATSIM. This system consists of red and green lights, controlled by the control tower, that show the pilots when they should enter or not the runway. As I said earlier, one of the main features of the airport, when compared to others, is the de-icing system. Right now it only shows information in the VDGS, but we all expect it to be like CYUL, with the operational de-icing trucks Maybe in the next version. Probably many people didn't notice that the airport is already at version 1.1, which became available one week after the initial release. This update brought many improvements, such as lighting fixes and FPS gains. If you always wanted to fly into Canada's second busiest airport, but never found an X-Plane version that was good enough for you, then this airport is the one you were looking for. I am sure that GloballArt gave their best at this airport and even though it is far away from perfection and has some downsides, it has many good qualities. If you are not sure if you should get this airport or not, trust me, you won't be disappointed with the solid airport. _________________________________ The CYVR - Vancouver International Airport by GloballArt is available at the X-Plane.Org Store. CYVR - Vancouver International Airport Price is US$24.95 Features ✓ Accurate replica os CTVR – Vancouver International Airport, updated 2020. ✓ Precise modeling based on original references, photos and others researchs. ✓ Customized runways, lines and taxiways, with ambiente occlusion included in the textures. ✓ Sun reflections effects on pavements. ✓ Fingers Auto Gate with VGDS o By Marginal ✓ Static objects, vehicles and aircraft are present in this scenery. ✓ Avenues and streets with personalized and standard vehicle traffic. ✓ HDR lighting with custom night textures. ✓ Custom textures with ambient occlusion. ✓ Animated ground traffic and default aircraft traffic. o Plugin Ground Traffic by Marginal ✓ Custom Approach Lights (ALS) systems. ✓ Included taxi routes for aircraft, "taxi route" ✓ Taxi routes configured to WT3 plugin. ✓ Airliners configured Ramp Start. ✓ De-Ice Signboard best configured to ZIBO 738 (complete) an other aircrafts (Signboard). o Use Auto Gate plugin datarefs - by Marginal ✓ Winter texture - only the Airport area. ✓ Stop Bars lights. o Online flights only. Included in scenery package ▪ CA-CYVR-A-Vancouver Intern Airport G1 ▪ CA-CYVR-B-Vancouver Mesh G1 ▪ CYVR Winter Textures ▪ Instruction Manual (English and portuguese BR) Requirements X-Plane 11 Windows. Mac or Linux 4 GB VRAM Minimum. 8 GB+ VRAM Recommended Download Size: 1 GB Current version: 1.1 (May 22nd 2020) Installation Download scenery file size is 1GB Three folders are included+2 manuals CA-CYVR-A-Vancouver Intern Airport CA-CYVR-B-Mesh YVR_Winter-Textures Final scenery size is 3.5GB AutoGate plugin - AutoGate is required for this scenery Documents One manual in two languages English and Portuguese(BR) ->Manual-CYVR-English ->Manual-CYVR-Portugues _____________________________________________________________________ Scenery Review by Benardo Pierdoná Casa 27th May 2020 Copyright©2020 : X-Plane Reviews Review System Specifications: Computer System: Intel Core I5-9600K 4,30GHz / 2x8 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200MHz - Gigabyte RTX 2070 - Z390 Aorus Master - Kingston A1000M.2 SSD 240GB Software: - Windows 10 - X-Plane 11.41 Addons: Logitech Pro Flight Yoke/Pedals/Throttle Quadrant - Logitech Extreme 3d Pro Joystick - Sound: Samsung Home Theater System J5500WK Plugins: Environment Engine v1.13 by xEnviro US$69,90 Traffic: Traffic Global by JustFlight US$52.99 Scenery or Aircraft Boeing 737-800 by Zibo (X-Plane.Org)free 737-700U by Captain Kitten (Threshold)free (Disclaimer. All images and text in this review are the work and property of X-PlaneReviews, no sharing or copy of the content is allowed without consent from the author as per copyright conditions)
  25. Nice! I might get this if I’m starting some regional flights.
  1. Load more activity
×
×
  • Create New...